Recycle auto-draft post entries
|Reported by:||MattyRob||Owned by:|
Currently in WordPress (3.2.1) it seems that visiting a post authoring page creates a row in the wp_posts table with a status of 'auto-draft'.
If an author then creates some content another row is added containing this content.
Periodically, WordPress then checks for these redundant auto-draft entries and after 7 days they are erased.
I presume that the auto-draft posts are in there for a good reason but why, when a user clicks on "save" or "publish" is the auto-draft row not recycled and the content added to the existing row with the auto-draft status being updated to draft.