Opened 7 months ago
An active plugin which switches to network-only is impossible to deactivate
|Reported by:||johnbillion||Owned by:|
This might sound like an edge case, but this issue affects W3 Total Cache (which is highly popular) and will affect any other plugin that switches to being a network-only plugin as part of a plugin update.
Steps to reproduce:
- Write a nice plugin and activate it on one of your sites on Multisite.
- Decide that your plugin should only be network-activated. Add the Network: true header to the plugin.
- Visit the Plugins screen of the site that your plugin is active on. Note that the plugin is nowhere to be seen, even though the plugin is active.
Real-world example: The W3 Total Cache plugin was updated recently (or not so recently) to make it a network-only plugin (by adding the header above). The plugin gets hidden from the list of active Plugins on any site that it was individually activated on. This makes it impossible to deactivate. Even if you activate it network-wide and then deactivate it, the plugin remains active on the site it was originally active on.
Solution: Active plugins should always be shown on the Plugins screen of individual sites if they are active on the site but not active network-wide.
Loosely related: #18967