Password reset usability issues
|Reported by:||tellyworth||Owned by:||anonymous|
Some users have trouble resetting their passwords because the pages displayed by Wordpress during the process can be misunderstood. Here's what happens:
- User visits the Lost Password page and enters their email address.
- After submitting the form, they're presented with a login form that includes the message "please check your email for the confirmation link"
- After clicking on the link in the confirmation email, they're presented with a login form that includes the message "please check your e-mail for your new password"
At both steps (2) and (3), Wordpress shows its normal login page with a small and easily overlooked message. Some users are missing the message and thinking, "why am I back at the login screen? I don't know the password you idiots." Both steps also include a "Lost Password" link at the bottom, so it's easy for users to click that again and chase their own tail.
The attached patch removes the username/password login fields and hides the Lost Password link on those two screens, to reduce the ways of misunderstanding the process.
Change History (10)
comment:1 foolswisdom — 6 years ago
- Keywords has-patch added
- Milestone set to 2.3 (trunk)
- Version set to 2.3