WXR file as backup for upgrade process
|Reported by:||RanYanivHartstein||Owned by:||anonymous|
In WordPress 2.7, before performing an upgrade, users are urged to backup their stuff. This is great.
Immediately after recommending a backup, users are offered to do a "Backup" of their blog using the WXR format. This is not great.
The WXR format is far from a comprehensive backup - and using it is no substitute for backing up the database and entire WordPress directory.
Putting the backup button right there in the upgrade screen will make 99% percent of the users think that they actually have a full backup of their blog - and thus never actually do a real backup.
I recommend the current backup button either be replaced with a proper backup function, be properly disclaimed to make sure users are aware that they are not backing up substantial portions of their blog, or simply be removed entirely.