Make WordPress Core

Opened 15 years ago

Closed 14 years ago

Last modified 14 years ago

#10379 closed enhancement (fixed)

"Remove" in widgets should read: "Delete"

Reported by: denis-de-bernardy's profile Denis-de-Bernardy Owned by:
Milestone: 2.9 Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version:
Component: UI Keywords: 2nd-opinion has-patch
Focuses: Cc:

Description

A remove link, if any, should put the widget over in the inactive widgets; but that would be for another ticket.

Attachments (1)

10379.diff (1.4 KB) - added by scohoust 15 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (7)

@scohoust
15 years ago

#1 @scohoust
15 years ago

  • Keywords has-patch added

Added a patch to fix the UI issue - sorts it for both the JS and non-JS version.

#2 @dnusim
15 years ago

+1 from me.

#3 in reply to: ↑ description @caesarsgrunt
14 years ago

-1

Replying to Denis-de-Bernardy:

A remove link, if any, should put the widget over in the inactive widgets; but that would be for another ticket.

A delete link, if any, should delete the widget from the blog altogether, not just remove it from the sidebar.

A hide or deactivate link would move it to inactive widgets.

#4 @janeforshort
14 years ago

  • Type changed from defect (bug) to enhancement

Contextually, remove means "remove from sidebar" and should probably move it to inactive area. From inactive area, "Remove" should be "Delete" instead, since you're deleting the formatted/configured widget. We should get rid of the current method of deleting by dragging back to the Available Widgets area, as it implies the configured widget is being moved, not that it's being deleted. And changing "Remove" to "Deactivate" when in the sidebar sounds good to me in terms of being like the language used for plugins, but Remove also refers to the location (remove from sidebar), which I like.

I think for now making Remove be Delete in the Inactive widget area, and having Remove while in a sidebar initiate a move to Inactive Widgets area is the simplest thing to do, and we can refine it more maybe after some testing.

#5 @markjaquith
14 years ago

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

(In [12360]) Change 'Remove' link on widgets to 'Delete' because it doesn't just remove it, it deletes the settings for that widget instance. props Denis-de-Bernardy. fixes #10379

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.