WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 10 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

Last modified 5 years ago

#11183 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Bulk delete for tags and categoried does not ask for confirmation

Reported by: sirzooro Owned by: filosofo
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 2.9
Component: Taxonomy Keywords: 2nd-opinion
Focuses: Cc:

Description

When you delete tags or categories using bulk action, WP does not ask for confirmation. I suspect that custom taxonomies may be affected too.

Change History (8)

#1 @azaozz
10 years ago

Bulk delete is a two step process: select Delete, click Apply. Don't think we need third step for this, there's no chance the user would miss-click twice.

#2 follow-up: @sirzooro
10 years ago

My point of view is different - I expect that in case of irreversible action (like deleting) I will get final warning "are you sure?".

This is also a change from WP 2.8, so users may expect that warning will be displayed, and act as if it would be displayed.

BTW, there is no confirmation for "Delete Permanently" link for trashed posts, pages and comments.

#3 in reply to: ↑ 2 @scribu
10 years ago

Replying to sirzooro:

BTW, there is no confirmation for "Delete Permanently" link for trashed posts, pages and comments.

That's the whole point of having Trash: no more "Are you sure?".

#4 @sirzooro
10 years ago

Yes, but what if someone will change his/her mind later, and by mistake click "Delete Permanently"? In this case WP will delete post without any extra confirmation.

#5 @scribu
10 years ago

By that logic, you would have confirmation after confirmation and nothing would ever get deleted.

If someone changes his/her mind later, they should not delete it permanently and leave it in the trash, or have a DB backup.

#6 @scribu
10 years ago

  • Keywords 2nd-opinion added; needs-patch removed

#7 @janeforshort
10 years ago

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Type changed from defect (bug) to enhancement

Agreed with above: whole point of trash is to remove the extra confirmation steps and replace with Undo capability. I think at this point reintroducing confirmation dialogues belongs in a plugin, as removing the confirmations in favor of trash interaction was approved by the dev chats long ago.

#8 @DrewAPicture
5 years ago

  • Milestone 2.9 deleted
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.