Make WordPress Core

Opened 19 years ago

Closed 19 years ago

#1127 closed defect (bug) (worksforme)

Save and Continue Editing Restores Cache of Post Not New

Reported by: anonymousbugger's profile anonymousbugger Owned by: matt's profile matt
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: major Version: 1.5
Component: Administration Keywords:
Focuses: Cc:

Description

When clicking "Save and Continue Editing", the page "refreshes" but restores cached post - the unchanged previous version of the post. "Saving" this version, and continuing replaces the "edited" version with the unchanged version with any new edits. In order to continue editing on the "fixed" version, a total cache Refresh must happen in the edit window after hitting "Save and Continue Editing", which will then re-import the new saved post from the database, restoring the freshly revised version, and clearing the old cached version from the window. Found in Firefox - untested in MSIE.

Change History (3)

#1 @anonymousbugger
19 years ago

  • Patch set to No

#2 @anonymousbugger
19 years ago

After changing the cache size on Firefox to zero, no change occurred and the problem continued. After rebooting the machine and reloading Firefox, the problem seems to be gone for now, though loading pages takes FOREVER without the cache. I will adjust it upwards and watch to see if this reoccurs.

It seems that some of Firefox's options don't change, even though the APPLY is selected, until closed and restarted. I tested in MSIE and the same thing happened until I cleared the cache totally. Then it was fine for several days without restarting the program and then occurred again when the "cache" reached whatever limits it has.

Problem with MSIE might be related to a bug in MSIE that prevents copying and pasting from web pages and between programs (and loss of right click options plus other problems) when the MSIE cache is "full" after viewing days of web pages without closing and restarting the program AND clearing the temp Internet files.

Lorelle

edited on: 03-24-05 04:22

#3 @matt
19 years ago

  • Owner changed from anonymous to matt
  • Resolution changed from 10 to 40
  • Status changed from new to closed

Sounds like a browser/platform bug.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.