#12472 closed enhancement (fixed)
Add AYS on unsaved menu changes
| Reported by: | Denis-de-Bernardy | Owned by: | koopersmith |
|---|---|---|---|
| Priority: | normal | Milestone: | 3.0 |
| Component: | Menus | Version: | 3.0 |
| Severity: | normal | Keywords: | needs-patch |
| Cc: | Focuses: |
Description
if you edit a menu, and change its contents, by adding/removing items and/or editing existing items. if you forget to click save all changes before leaving, it discards the changes. the save all changes should not be needed, much like we're doing in the widgets screen.
Change History (9)
#2
@
16 years ago
- Summary confusing UI: edit / delete menu item → Add autosave on edit / delete menu item
- Type defect (bug) → feature request
#3
@
16 years ago
I'd rather see an AYS. No autosave on menus. People will work on these and not want them updated without an explicit save/publish.
#4
@
16 years ago
- Keywords needs-patch added
- Owner changed from to
- Status new → assigned
- Summary Add autosave on edit / delete menu item → Add AYS on unsaved menu changes
- Type feature request → enhancement
#6
@
16 years ago
- Resolution → fixed
- Status assigned → closed
Re-open if this needs more work.
Known issue that will not be fixed: if you make a change (like a sort, or an add, or a text modification) and then revert it, such that you are back at the original state, it will still think you've made a change. The change sensing is dumb... it triggers on the input/textarea/select changes, the "Add" events, the sort events, and the hierarchy change events.
Deletes happen asynchronously with their own AYS, so these don't count as a change.
#7
@
16 years ago
- Resolution fixed
- Status closed → reopened
Pardon for re-opening, but... why should widgets autosave whenever anything gets changed, while menu items should get an annoying AYS?
Mac pref screens autosave nearly all changed settings for good reasons.
#8
@
16 years ago
- Resolution → fixed
- Status reopened → closed
We don't autosave because we don't want push interim menu changes live. This is a big complaint with widgets. As you make modifications, they go live.
This is by design for 3.0. We'll see what the feedback looks like once 3.0 is out and adjust course as needed.
![(please configure the [header_logo] section in trac.ini)](/chrome/site/your_project_logo.png)
Its not really a bug.