WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 4 years ago

Closed 2 years ago

#12515 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Destructive Autosaves Happening on All Drafts

Reported by: miqrogroove Owned by: azaozz
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: minor Version:
Component: Revisions Keywords:
Focuses: Cc:

Description

I'm investigating reports of post drafts magically reverting or not being saved at all. This appears to be happening at random, and so far I cannot find the cause. In the meantime, I have discovered a related problem: WordPress 2.9.2 is continuously overwriting drafts during editing.

Steps to Reproduce:

  1. Create a New Post
  1. Click Save Draft (or wait for autosave)
  1. Edit the content and wait 60 seconds.
  1. Repeat step 3 as many times as you like. Go to other pages. Come back. Do anything other than click Save Draft, and WordPress will repeatedly overwrite the saved information without creating any revisions or autosave records.

This is especially destructive if in step 2 the draft was autosaved by WordPress. In that case, there are no revisions at all. If you clear the content at that point, WordPress essentially deletes your draft without confirmation.

Change History (10)

comment:1 miqrogroove4 years ago

FWIW, the other half of this bug, where posts are magically not being saved at all, is caused by qTranslate.

Currently, the best workaround is to use WordPress 2.8.

comment:2 dd324 years ago

AFAIK, This is by design.

Revisions should not be created for every draft autosave.

Revisions are only created of manual/final saves.

comment:3 miqrogroove4 years ago

Why doesn't the autosave create autosave records now? I can only get it to happen on published posts.

comment:4 azaozz4 years ago

  • Milestone 2.9.3 deleted
  • Resolution set to invalid
  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Version 2.9.2 deleted

Autosave follows the same logic like any text editing program. If you start a new document in MS Word, type something then delete it, the autosave there will save the empty document. If you've opened an existing document the autosave will create new document/revision leaving the old one intact until the Save button is clicked.

That's why there is multi-step undo in TinyMCE like most text editors, so if you deleted something by mistake you can press Ctrl-Z (or use the Undo button) to get it back.

Closing this as invalid as part of the problem is caused by a plugin and the other part is expected behaviour not just in WordPress but in many text editors.

comment:5 follow-up: miqrogroove4 years ago

  • Milestone set to 2.9.3
  • Resolution invalid deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened

If you've opened an existing document the autosave will create new document/revision

No it doesn't. That only happens on published posts.

comment:6 in reply to: ↑ 5 azaozz4 years ago

  • Component changed from Autosave to Revisions
  • Milestone changed from 2.9.3 to Future Release
  • Priority changed from highest omg bbq to normal
  • Severity changed from blocker to minor
  • Type changed from defect (bug) to enhancement

Replying to miqrogroove:

(In MS Word) If you've opened an existing document the autosave will create new document/revision

No it doesn't. That only happens on published posts.

Yes, currently "saved" in a text editor = "published" in WordPress. If you're suggesting to add revisions to drafts, I see how this can benefit people that edit a draft over a number of days and might want to check an old version of it. However this is an enhancement (feature request?) and some people would be opposed to having more revisions.

Generally drafts are overwritten and the multi-step undo is in place to correct any mistakes like in most text editors.

comment:7 azaozz2 years ago

  • Milestone Future Release deleted
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from reopened to closed

Re-reading this ticked after two years still don't see a point in having revisions for drafts. At best that would be plugin material.

Version 0, edited 2 years ago by azaozz (next)

comment:8 nacin2 years ago

  • Resolution wontfix deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened

comment:9 SergeyBiryukov2 years ago

  • Milestone set to Awaiting Review

comment:10 nacin2 years ago

  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from reopened to closed
Last edited 2 years ago by nacin (previous) (diff)
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.