WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 9 months ago

#13942 closed defect (bug)

Logged-out notice in post edit page is easily missed — at Version 1

Reported by: RanYanivHartstein Owned by:
Milestone: 3.6 Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 3.0
Component: Editor Keywords: ux-feedback has-patch
Focuses: Cc:

Description (last modified by lloydbudd)

When a user gets logged out during post editing, a small warning appears bellow the post editor, next to the word count. This warning states that changes will not be saved until user logs in again - but it's a small notice and is very easily missed.

Since this can be potentially catastrophic for users writing long posts while relying on auto-save, a bigger and more prominent notice probably makes more sense.

Repro

ENV: WP 3.0

This bug can be reproduced in WordPress 3.0 by opening two tabs – one tab with a blog’s Dashboard, and another tab with the same blog’s New Post page. In the Dashboard, click Logout, then switch to the New Post tab. Here, enter any text in the post’s title, then hit Tab to switch to the editor. This will trigger the permalink preview, which will in turn trigger the notice about being logged out: “ALERT: You are logged out! Could not save draft. Please log in again.”

Additional Details

The notice comes from wp-admin/admin-ajax.php, in line 36.

Change History (2)

RanYanivHartstein4 years ago

Screen shot of the notice displayed when user gets logged out while writing a post

comment:1 lloydbudd4 years ago

  • Description modified (diff)
  • Milestone changed from Unassigned to Future Release
  • Version set to 3.0
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.