WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 4 years ago

Closed 3 years ago

#14523 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Allow users to empty trash without going into it.

Reported by: sterlo Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 3.0.1
Component: Trash Keywords: trash, usability, suggestion
Focuses: Cc:

Description

Pre-face: I frequently create WordPress sites - I add quite a few pages and posts on a daily basis.

Issue:
Users currently can send items (posts/pages) to the trash with ease.
But if they want to empty the trash - they have to open the trash (friends and I have deemed this 'dumpster diving' - then click the empty trash button.

On the one hand I can see the additional step saving users from making the mistake of prematurely emptying their trash.

On the other hand - I can see it slowing down someone maintaining their sites with extra page loads.

I.E.

  1. Trash page
  2. Go into trash page
  3. Click empty trash
  4. User then decides he wants to delete other pages.
  5. Go back to page list
  6. Trash Pages
  7. Go into trash page
  8. Click empty trash.

This could be simplified with:

  1. Trash page.
  2. Click empty trash button.
  3. User then decides he wants to delete other pages.
    • User is still in the page list area.
  4. Trash Pages
  5. Click empty trash button.

Suggestion:
Add an additional 'empty trash button' next to the trash button if it has items within.

Possible make this a configurable option underneath General or Writing.

Change History (2)

comment:1 jane4 years ago

That safety step is built in as your friend suggests, as it is in OS trash/recycle, Gmail and other web apps with trash features. I'd rather see a plugin do this for now.

comment:2 nacin3 years ago

  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.