WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 3 years ago

Closed 3 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#16144 closed enhancement (maybelater)

Add button to hide autosave warning

Reported by: Malcjohn Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: major Version:
Component: Editor Keywords: ux-feedback 2nd-opinion
Focuses: Cc:

Description

Hi, please do not be angry if something isn't ok (mean describing), but this is my first "bug" which i would like to resolve.

So when i writing a text in TinyMCE, save it and do some other work, which i have already forget.
But later on i edit that post and sometimes shows me a dialog : "There is an autosave of this post that is more recent than the version below. <a href=\"%s\">View the autosave</a> " .

More picture in the CZECH Version.
http://www.imageupload.org/

What we should do ???
I know exactly what does it mean, but please just add a cross at the end of the line, because there is no way, how to hide it. The user can hide it, and work on it later (mean to look for the problem).

Please this should be just some lines of code, so we can get it in the 3.2 version. It should be very fast.

Change History (10)

comment:1 scribu3 years ago

  • Summary changed from add a "cross" to one table (string) to Add button to hide autosave warning

comment:2 Malcjohn3 years ago

ok, thanks,
but we need to set it up for 3.2 version, or so

comment:3 Malcjohn3 years ago

sorry, but i have already delete my picture from pc, so i cant reuploaded. But still we have to do this

comment:4 Malcjohn3 years ago

  • Keywords early 3.2 added
  • Severity changed from normal to major

comment:5 scribu3 years ago

  • Keywords ux-feedback added; early 3.2 removed

I think we should concentrate on fixing the cause of the problem: #15130

comment:6 dd323 years ago

  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

You can simply re-save the post and the message will go away, In my opinion, thats an adequate solution as it's there for a reason, saving the post will result in you overwriting previous changes.

comment:7 follow-up: nacin3 years ago

  • Keywords 2nd-opinion added
  • Milestone set to Awaiting Review

Actually, I kinda like this -- a simple JS-only Dismiss link that kills the element would be a nice touch. It can indeed get annoying when you're working on a revision for quite a while and you know it's a bogus message.

Maybe it's just power-user though, and that #15130 handles most of the truly bogus messages, rather than "I know for a fact that Mandy isn't editing this post."

Re-opening for some UX feedback.

comment:8 nacin3 years ago

  • Resolution wontfix deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened

comment:9 in reply to: ↑ 7 westi3 years ago

  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to maybelater
  • Status changed from reopened to closed

Replying to nacin:

Actually, I kinda like this -- a simple JS-only Dismiss link that kills the element would be a nice touch. It can indeed get annoying when you're working on a revision for quite a while and you know it's a bogus message.

If it's a bogus message we should fix that bug not create a work around.

To me this isn't something we need to consider for now - the message isn't persistent and is informational.

comment:10 Malcjohn3 years ago

People, we dont help each other, if we set "maybelater".
It's also possible that we will never fix it.
Here are some good article : second example of http://api.jquery.com/hide/

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.