WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 4 years ago

Closed 7 weeks ago

#18222 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Visual clue after saving in fullscreen edit mode

Reported by: mathbr Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: minor Version:
Component: Editor Keywords:
Focuses: Cc:

Description

You can save your current state while writing an article in fullscreen edit mode by pressing Ctrl+S.

However, there is no visual indication after this that the article has been saved or while saving.

This should be added.

Change History (3)

comment:1 @azaozz4 years ago

  • Keywords close added

Ctrl + S forces an autosave (which runs every two minutes anyways). It doesn't save a draft or update the post. Having some kind of indicator there would be distracting... in Distraction Free Writing mode :)

comment:2 @andrewspittle19 months ago

  • Cc andrew@… added

Just tested this in 3.5.2 and in trunk. Pressing Command/Control + S in Distraction Free Writing does trigger an autosave as @azaozz mentions. However, currently it does show an indicator, just a non-ideal one. :)

In 3.5.2 and trunk you can:

  1. Create a new post at Posts > Add New
  2. Enter Distraction Free Writing mode
  3. Enter a post title and some text

The toolbar will then disappear as it typically does in DFW. Pressing Command/Control + S does create an indicator, though. It flashes the toolbar back to visible with no hint that an action was taken behind the scenes.

There are two better solutions that I see:

  1. Make it so that pressing Command/Control + S causes no visual indicator, thus preserving the distraction free aspect of DFW.
  2. Keep the current interaction where pressing Command/Control + S flashes the toolbar to visible but add a "Saved." label next to the "Save" button.

The second option would be more fitting with what happens when pressing Command/Control + S in the non-DFW post editor. In that case forcing an auto save displays "Saving draft..." below the editor content.

comment:3 @iseulde7 weeks ago

  • Keywords close removed
  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

DFW mode has changed in 4.1.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.