WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 7 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

#18503 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Delete-Plugin Error Validation Clears Form Values

Reported by: JohnONolan Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: minor Version: 3.1
Component: Administration Keywords: ux-feedback has-patch dev-feedback
Focuses: Cc:

Description

When bulk-deleting a set of plugins, if an error is encountered - all selected values are lost.

Process:

  1. Go to plugins overview screen, select several (active) plugins to delete.
  2. From the bulk-action dropdown menu, select "delete", then "apply"

Expected behaviour:

Error message: "You cannot delete a plugin while it is active on the main site." - Check marks are preserved, so you simply select "deactivate" and click on "apply" again.

Actual behaviour:

Error message: "You cannot delete a plugin while it is active on the main site." - All check marks lost, and you have to start all over again - which is a pain for sites with lots of plugins.

Attachments (2)

18503.patch (2.8 KB) - added by SergeyBiryukov 7 years ago.
18503.2.patch (2.6 KB) - added by SergeyBiryukov 5 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (8)

#1 @JohnONolan
7 years ago

  • Keywords ux-feedback needs-patch added
  • Severity changed from normal to minor

#2 @SergeyBiryukov
7 years ago

  • Keywords has-patch added; needs-patch removed

#3 @JohnONolan
7 years ago

  • Keywords dev-feedback added

#4 @c3mdigital
5 years ago

  • Component changed from General to Administration
  • Keywords needs-refresh added
  • Version changed from 3.2.1 to 3.1

#5 @SergeyBiryukov
5 years ago

  • Keywords needs-refresh removed

#6 @dd32
5 years ago

  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Type changed from defect (bug) to enhancement

The "You cannot delete a plugin while it is active on the main site." error is actually really pretty stupid..

The error conditional is hit in only *one* case, when you attempt to delete multiple ACTIVE plugins, which are activated on the current site. If you include a inactive plugin in the list of plugins you check, you get the Delete Plugins confirmation page with only those inactive plugins listed.

Since none of the other Bulk Actions work in a similar way, I'm closing this as wontfix for now, it doesn't appear like something that's actually a problem.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.