Opened 14 years ago
Closed 14 years ago
#23224 closed enhancement (fixed)
Delete Users: selecting a username should select the “Attribute all posts to” radio button
| Reported by: | MichaelZed | Owned by: | SergeyBiryukov |
|---|---|---|---|
| Priority: | normal | Milestone: | 3.6 |
| Component: | Users | Version: | 3.5 |
| Severity: | minor | Keywords: | has-patch commit |
| Cc: | Focuses: |
Description
In the Delete Users page, the user is forced choose between “(•) Delete all posts” and “(•) Attribute all posts to: ([User list]).” The second, safer choice requires two actions: select radio button, select user. Then the form still requires a third action, selecting the “Confirm Deletion” button.
Just selecting a user name implies the intent to attribute posts to the user. On selecting the user name, the radio button should be automatically selected too.
Attachments (1)
Change History (9)
#3
@
14 years ago
#20045 suggested the same. The consensus was to force the user to explicitly choose between content deletion and reassignment.
#5
follow-up:
↓ 6
@
14 years ago
Sergey, you’re mistaken. #20045 does not suggest this at all.
In case it’s unclear: I’m suggesting that neither radio button is selected by default and the “Confirm Deletion” button is inactive, as is currently the case. If the user explicitly selects a user to whom to attribute all posts, only then the “Attribute all posts to” radio box becomes selected. Nothing happens until the user explicitly chooses between content deletion and reassignment.
![(please configure the [header_logo] section in trac.ini)](/chrome/site/your_project_logo.png)
See also ticket #6405 When deleting users without any links/posts, don't ask to whom they should be reattributed