WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 9 years ago

Last modified 3 months ago

#23361 new defect (bug)

Deleting a user in Network Admin still defaults to "Delete all posts"

Reported by: SergeyBiryukov Owned by:
Milestone: Future Release Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 3.5
Component: Users Keywords: needs-patch ux-feedback needs-screenshots
Focuses: administration, multisite Cc:

Description

Background: #20045, #23224

We should either do what those tickets suggested in Network Admin as well for consistency, or redo/remove the form, since the attribution only works for the main site, as noted in ticket:20045:14.

Attachments (5)

multisite-delete-user-step-01.png (5.0 KB) - added by cgrymala 3 months ago.
Step 1 in the multisite user deletion flow (viewing the list of all network users and clicking Delete)
multisite-delete-user-step-02.png (41.9 KB) - added by cgrymala 3 months ago.
Step 2 in the network user deletion flow (choosing what to do with that user's content on each site)
multisite-delete-user-step-03.png (28.6 KB) - added by cgrymala 3 months ago.
Step 3 in the network user deletion flow (choosing which user to whom to attribute the user's content)
multisite-delete-user-step-04.png (10.9 KB) - added by cgrymala 3 months ago.
Step 4 in network user deletion flow (after selecting the appropriate actions for all sites in the network, clicking Confirm Deletion)
multisite-delete-user-step-05.png (4.2 KB) - added by cgrymala 3 months ago.
Step 5 in network user deletion flow (user is successfully deleted)

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (17)

#2 @DrewAPicture
9 years ago

  • Cc DrewAPicture added

#3 @jeremyfelt
8 years ago

  • Component changed from Network Admin to Users
  • Focuses administration added

#4 follow-up: @jeremyfelt
8 years ago

  • Keywords needs-patch ux-feedback added
  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to Future Release

I'd be in favor of redoing the form to address the true implications of deleting a network user.

There could be a possibility of a per site attribution/deletion option. Though if a user is a member of many sites, that could get unwieldy.

#5 in reply to: ↑ 4 @johnbillion
6 years ago

Replying to jeremyfelt:

There could be a possibility of a per site attribution/deletion option. Though if a user is a member of many sites, that could get unwieldy.

This is the case currently and has been the case since MU. Are referring to something else?

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #design by karmatosed. View the logs.


4 years ago

#7 @karmatosed
4 years ago

I think what would be helpful is to have some screenshots of the current flow, then we can work out what is best from this point.

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #design by boemedia. View the logs.


4 years ago

#9 @melchoyce
4 years ago

  • Keywords needs-screenshots added

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #design by karmatosed. View the logs.


3 years ago

#11 @SergeyBiryukov
4 months ago

#53832 was marked as a duplicate.

@cgrymala
3 months ago

Step 1 in the multisite user deletion flow (viewing the list of all network users and clicking Delete)

@cgrymala
3 months ago

Step 2 in the network user deletion flow (choosing what to do with that user's content on each site)

@cgrymala
3 months ago

Step 3 in the network user deletion flow (choosing which user to whom to attribute the user's content)

@cgrymala
3 months ago

Step 4 in network user deletion flow (after selecting the appropriate actions for all sites in the network, clicking Confirm Deletion)

@cgrymala
3 months ago

Step 5 in network user deletion flow (user is successfully deleted)

#12 @cgrymala
3 months ago

I've just uploaded a series of screenshots that, hopefully, show the flow of this process.

In Step 3, you'll notice that clicking to expand the Select with the list of usernames doesn't check the "Attribute all content to:" radio button; I feel like it would be logical for that to happen. I can't imagine a user expanding that select without intending to check that radio button.

Also, I may be wrong, but I don't believe there's any process to actually verify whether the user being deleted has any content on each of the sites listed. Instead, every site of which that user is a member is listed in this list. For a user that was a Super Admin, but didn't actually create much content, this process is overly cumbersome on a large network. It would be nice if, before asking what to do with the user's content on a particular site, the system attempted to check whether the user actually had any content on that site. There is no reason to ask what to do with the user's content if the user has no content. I do realize, though, that this may add a lot of overhead and resource usage to this process.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.