WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 5 months ago

Closed 5 months ago

#26342 closed defect (bug) (wontfix)

Admin Color Scheme taken into account before being saved

Reported by: AlphaGolf_fr Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 3.8
Component: Administration Keywords:
Focuses: ui Cc:

Description

At the user profile page, the choice for a color scheme is implicitely saved once previewed by the user, meaning, the change is taken into account even though the user leaves the page without saving from the 'Update Profile' button.

Is this on purpose and if so, why would it be different from all the other settings that actually need to be saved to avoid being discarded.

Change History (4)

comment:1 SergeyBiryukov5 months ago

  • Component changed from Users to Administration
  • Keywords ui-focus added

comment:2 follow-up: helen5 months ago

  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to 3.8

It is by design, yes. The reasoning was that the live preview of the theme is unexpectedly lost when you navigate away.

For the record, I am and have been opposed to the auto-saving behavior here, because no other fields do it. I would very much rather see an indicator that you are previewing and/or an explicit preview button.

comment:3 in reply to: ↑ 2 nacin5 months ago

Replying to helen:

It is by design, yes. The reasoning was that the live preview of the theme is unexpectedly lost when you navigate away.

For the record, I am and have been opposed to the auto-saving behavior here, because no other fields do it. I would very much rather see an indicator that you are previewing and/or an explicit preview button.

I think we could probably just cause the preview to be lost when you navigate away. If this was in Screen Options or something (not saying it belongs there), auto-saving makes sense. On the profile form with a save button, it does not. I don't think the "unexpectedly" is actually unexpected. Could be worth a user test on asking a user to change their color scheme.

comment:4 nacin5 months ago

  • Milestone 3.8 deleted
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

Some further discussion and thought on this (also: IRC) makes me think that the current situation is the best possible user experience.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.