WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 7 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

Last modified 7 years ago

#26709 closed enhancement (fixed)

Deleting users makes it unclear that pages will be deleted

Reported by: mickmel Owned by: helen
Milestone: 3.9 Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 3.8
Component: Text Changes Keywords: has-patch commit
Focuses: Cc:

Description

When deleting a user, you are warned that "all posts" from this user will be deleted. While this is accurate, I've had two clients now that have deleted the user and lost pages because "they weren't posts". Clearing up that language would be helpful for users.

Attachments (2)

users.php.patch (1.3 KB) - added by mickmel 7 years ago.
This patch should resolve the issue
26709.users.php.patch.diff (1.3 KB) - added by seanchayes 7 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (11)

@mickmel
7 years ago

This patch should resolve the issue

#1 @SergeyBiryukov
7 years ago

  • Component changed from Users to Text Changes
  • Keywords has-patch added
  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to 3.9

#2 @rickalee
7 years ago

Should it be 'content' instead of 'posts and pages' since Custom Post Types could be in use?

#3 @seanchayes
7 years ago

I tested this patch and it worked but I suggest an additional text change (in the attached patch/diff) that catered for multiple users.

I've gone for the "content" approach as when you do delete a user and their custom post type content then it is more than "posts and pages".

#4 @nacin
7 years ago

  • Keywords commit added

#5 follow-up: @jwhyatt
7 years ago

I just came to submit a bug+patch for exactly this issue.

One change I would recommend, though, to seanchayes patch would be to have the prompt text give examples of content that would be deleted.

For example: What should be done with content (such as pages, posts, and media) owned by this user?

This ticket was mentioned in IRC in #wordpress-dev by helen. View the logs.


7 years ago

#7 in reply to: ↑ 5 @helen
7 years ago

Replying to jwhyatt:

One change I would recommend, though, to seanchayes patch would be to have the prompt text give examples of content that would be deleted.

For example: What should be done with content (such as pages, posts, and media) owned by this user?

I usually prefer more detail, but even with the "such as" that's probably getting a little too specific. It's completely plausible for a site to be using none of those post types.

Bringing the changes into multisite and help, then getting it in.

#8 @helen
7 years ago

  • Owner set to helen
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

In 27416:

Indicate that the user deletion process affects all content attributed to a given user, not just posts. props seanchayes. fixes #26709.

#9 @nacin
7 years ago

In 27605:

Remove HTML from a new string. see #26709.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.