WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 4 years ago

Closed 4 years ago

Last modified 10 months ago

#27575 closed defect (bug) (wontfix)

Widget Customizer: Inconsistent use of Delete / Remove

Reported by: jeremyfelt Owned by: ocean90
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 3.9
Component: Widgets Keywords: has-patch
Focuses: Cc:

Description

When using the standard widget administration in wp-admin/widgets.php, each current widget in a sidebar has a 'Delete' and a 'Close' link. If a new widget is added to a sidebar, the same Delete and Close links are used.

When using the widget controls in the customizer, existing widgets appear with Remove and Close links. When a new widget is added through the customizer, it initially appears with a Delete and Close link.

I haven't found any conversation around this in a previous ticket. Sticking with Delete and Close would be a more consistent experience. Patch attached.

Attachments (1)

27575.diff (725 bytes) - added by jeremyfelt 4 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (10)

@jeremyfelt
4 years ago

#1 @nacin
4 years ago

  • Keywords commit added
  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to 3.9
  • Owner set to ocean90
  • Status changed from new to assigned

#2 @westonruter
4 years ago

It is all intentional, actually. When a widget is added to a widget area but is not yet saved, then the "Delete" link is present. When the widget gets saved for the first time, it will change to "Remove"; at this point, instead of the widget instance being lost forever, clicking Remove places it in the Inactive Widgets sidebar, which then becomes a sort of widget trash can. If you hover over the link, you'll see a tooltip:

Trash widget by moving it to the inactive widgets sidebar.

See original discussion on IRC, where we dive into the rationale for this: https://irclogs.wordpress.org/chanlog.php?channel=wordpress-ui&day=2013-10-14&sort=asc#m128535

See also these GitHub issues: https://github.com/x-team/wp-widget-customizer/issues/22 https://github.com/x-team/wp-widget-customizer/issues/49

#3 @ocean90
4 years ago

  • Keywords close added; commit removed

I agree with westonruter. Remove is for moving the widget to the Inactive Widgets area.

#4 @nacin
4 years ago

Fine by me, I wasn't paying close attention.

#5 @ocean90
4 years ago

  • Keywords close removed
  • Milestone 3.9 deleted
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from assigned to closed

#6 @ocean90
3 years ago

#33951 was marked as a duplicate.

#7 @westonruter
17 months ago

#39426 was marked as a duplicate.

#8 @afercia
12 months ago

I get it's intentional, however it's inconsistent with the Widgets screen. See also #28888

Last edited 12 months ago by afercia (previous) (diff)

#9 @westonruter
10 months ago

#41087 was marked as a duplicate.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.