WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 5 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

#28150 closed enhancement (fixed)

Deleted blog message in wp_site_check() is misleading

Reported by: boonebgorges Owned by: SergeyBiryukov
Milestone: 4.0 Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 3.0
Component: Text Changes Keywords: has-patch commit
Focuses: multisite Cc:

Description

When attempting to load a blog that has been marked as deleted, WP currently throws the following wp_die() error: "This user has elected to delete their account and the content is no longer available." https://core.trac.wordpress.org/browser/tags/3.9/src/wp-includes/ms-load.php#L91

It looks like the message has been the same since MU, where it was assumed (to some extent) that there'd be a one-to-one relationship between blogs and users.

Now, the message is misleading. Often it's the case that the user account has *not* been deleted. Even when true, it's not generally relevant that the user has been deleted. I suggest the more accurate (and very generic) 'This site is no longer available'. See attached patch.

Attachments (1)

28150.patch (594 bytes) - added by boonebgorges 5 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (4)

@boonebgorges
5 years ago

#1 @SergeyBiryukov
5 years ago

  • Keywords has-patch commit added
  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to 4.0

#2 @DrewAPicture
5 years ago

  • Component changed from General to Text Changes

#3 @SergeyBiryukov
5 years ago

  • Owner set to SergeyBiryukov
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

In 28321:

Update deleted site message in ms_site_check().

props boonebgorges.
fixes #28150.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.