WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 5 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

#30562 closed defect (bug) (duplicate)

If User Manually Upgrades WordPress after a failed automatic upgrade, remove the notice

Reported by: rhyswynne Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 2.7
Component: Upgrade/Install Keywords:
Focuses: ui Cc:

Description

Hi There,

Going to attempt to explain this the best as I can, as I'm unsure about this myself, as there was a week or two before I noticed this.

I have an installation that doesn't upgrade automatically (a misconfiguration in a server I don't have access to), as such I have to upgrade it via FTP. With the latest 4.0 > 4.0.1 update, it failed (as expected), WordPress still worked, and I upgraded manually. We're on 4.0.1, all good.

HOWEVER, even though I'm running 4.0.1, I am unable to remove the dialog box telling me that the update is failed. All I can do is click the "please attempt the update again now", which takes me to the "Upgrade" process, which only allows me to reinstall WordPress 4.0.1.

I feel that it should be possible to close this dialog, or maybe a check to see if you're on the latest version before displaying this error?

Attachments (1)

Screen Shot 2014-12-01 at 09.20.50.png (166.6 KB) - added by rhyswynne 5 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (3)

#1 @johnbillion
5 years ago

  • Keywords needs-patch added
  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to Future Release
  • Version changed from 4.0.1 to 2.7

maybe a check to see if you're on the latest version before displaying this error

This makes the most sense I think.

#2 @SergeyBiryukov
5 years ago

  • Keywords needs-patch removed
  • Milestone Future Release deleted
  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed

Duplicate of #14028.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.