WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#32551 new enhancement

Superseded feature plugins should suggest deleting the plugin in the auto deactivation notice

Reported by: ryan Owned by:
Milestone: Awaiting Review Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 4.3
Component: Plugins Keywords: beta-testing-flow close
Focuses: ui Cc:
PR Number:

Description

The Twemoji feature plugin is superseded by 4.2. It auto deactivates if you have 4.2 or later installed and shows a message in plugins.php. That message should suggest deleting the plugin. We don't want these superseded plugins to linger.

Attachments (1)

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 9.12.51 PM.png (669.8 KB) - added by ryan 4 years ago.
This plugin will automatically deactivate itself…

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (5)

@ryan
4 years ago

This plugin will automatically deactivate itself...

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #core-flow by boren. View the logs.


4 years ago

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #core by boren. View the logs.


4 years ago

#3 @ryan
4 years ago

Some plugins are handling this themselves.

https://cloudup.com/cwN4JIDEgsN

#4 @swissspidy
3 years ago

  • Keywords close added

Although Twemoji and the REST API have been two notable exceptions in the past, I think this is best left to the individual plugins.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.