WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 8 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

Last modified 5 years ago

#3381 closed feature request (invalid)

"Discard" button for autosaves

Reported by: Viper007Bond Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: low
Severity: minor Version: 2.1
Component: Autosave Keywords:
Focuses: Cc:

Description

Write a post and let it get autosaved. Now what if you decide that you no longer want the draft? There's no way to discard the autosaved draft without browsing to the "edit" page for the draft.

So, I propose a "Discard" button somewhere that shows up after an autosave is done.

Change History (14)

comment:1 follow-up: tedfox8 years ago

Just curious, why would you not want the draft?

Wouldn't managing the autosave draft be relevant to how you manage the rest of your draft as well. (i.e. if that's the case, wouldn't it nice to be able to easily discard other drafts as well)

comment:2 in reply to: ↑ 1 Viper007Bond8 years ago

Replying to tedfox:

Just curious, why would you not want the draft?

I often start writing a post and then a couple sentences into it I decide that it's not worth it or that I won't be able to make the point I wanted to make, so I close the tab. Maybe I'm just weird...

comment:3 follow-up: foolswisdom8 years ago

Good points Viper! Autosave should result in a "Delete this Post" or better a "Discard Draft" or "Delete this Draft". With autosave "Save and Continue Editing" also becomes extraneous.

comment:4 matt8 years ago

  • Milestone changed from 2.1 to 2.2

comment:5 foolswisdom7 years ago

  • Milestone changed from 2.2 to 2.3

comment:6 in reply to: ↑ 3 ; follow-up: rob1n7 years ago

Replying to foolswisdom:

With autosave "Save and Continue Editing" also becomes extraneous.

I often hit Save & Continue so I get a iframe preview, or in trunk, a Preview link.

comment:7 in reply to: ↑ 6 foolswisdom7 years ago

Replying to rob1n:

I often hit Save & Continue so I get a iframe preview, or in trunk, a Preview link.

Shouldn't clicking the Preview link instead invoke a save first? That would be the smarter experience -- I just don't think other applications are moving to a Save & Continue model, in fact they are moving away from it, as we are.

comment:8 ryan7 years ago

  • Milestone changed from 2.3 to 2.4 (next)

comment:9 pishmishy6 years ago

  • Milestone changed from 2.5 to 2.6

Feature request so bumping to 2.6 for feature freeze.

comment:10 DD326 years ago

  • Component changed from Administration to Autosave
  • Owner anonymous deleted
  • Type changed from enhancement to feature request

comment:11 mrmist6 years ago

  • Keywords needs-patch added

Needs patching or closing due to low traction.

comment:12 Denis-de-Bernardy5 years ago

a patch would be neat. :-)

comment:13 hakre5 years ago

  • Keywords needs-patch removed
  • Milestone changed from 2.9 to Unassigned
  • Resolution set to invalid
  • Status changed from new to closed

Thanks for making such a good suggestion. Unfourtionatly since a longer time no developer has found time to provide a patch. Because of that it is closed as invalid now. If you're interested in having such a feature, please provide a patch and re-open the ticket.

comment:14 Denis-de-Bernardy5 years ago

  • Milestone Unassigned deleted
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.