WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Changes between Initial Version and Version 1 of Ticket #37887, comment 10


Ignore:
Timestamp:
01/14/2017 02:07:17 AM (4 years ago)
Author:
westonruter
Comment:

Legend:

Unmodified
Added
Removed
Modified
  • Ticket #37887, comment 10

    initial v1  
    22> Still don't think auto-deleting the image is right. It is very easy for the user to delete it if they want, or to keep it for later. There is even the user case where the user may want to let somebody else see what it looks like before setting it as logo.
    33
    4 The image would only be auto-deleted if there is no reference to the that attachment. Since it's suggested here that uploads and attachment changes should be encapsulated inside of a customization session (changeset), if that changeset is abandoned/deleted then the attachment should also be purged. As of 4.7, a user can share the URL to a customizer session (with the `changeset_uuid` param intact) with another user so that they can see the image applied as the site logo. A user can even share a URL to the frontend directly with the `customize_changeset_uuid` param present and let an unauthenticated user see how the custom logo appears.
     4The image would only be auto-deleted if there is no reference to the attachment. Since it's suggested here that uploads and attachment changes should be encapsulated inside of a customization session (changeset), if that changeset is abandoned/deleted then the attachment should also be purged. As of 4.7, a user can share the URL to a customizer session (with the `changeset_uuid` param intact) with another user so that they can see the image applied as the site logo. A user can even share a URL to the frontend directly with the `customize_changeset_uuid` param present and let an unauthenticated user see how the custom logo appears.
    55
    66>> Everything done in the customizer should be understood to be done in a preview context. Users should expect that nothing goes live until they hit Save & Publish.