WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 4 years ago

Closed 17 months ago

#38831 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Closing Link Options in TinyMCE shouldn't return you to editor (and remove the link)

Reported by: rhyswynne Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 4.3
Component: TinyMCE Keywords: needs-screenshots
Focuses: ui Cc:

Description

Here's my workflow:-

  1. Highlight some text.
  2. Click the Link Icon.
  3. Put a URL in the text box.
  4. Click "Link Options".
  5. Close the window.

I feel like right now it probably should instead return to the box in step 3, rather than close completely.

Attachments (1)

TinyMCE Link on copy.png (35.4 KB) - added by lukecavanagh 4 years ago.
Current default state

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (6)

@lukecavanagh
4 years ago

Current default state

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #core by helen. View the logs.


4 years ago

#2 @helen
4 years ago

  • Keywords needs-screenshots added
  • Type changed from defect (bug) to enhancement
  • Version changed from trunk to 4.3

I think I understand what's being described, but a screencast of that workflow would be helpful here.

#3 @azaozz
4 years ago

Yes, the way it works now is a "two stage dialog". First is the simple dialog, if you want to add more options, you open the "advanced" dialog.

If I understand correctly you want to return to the "simple" dialog after opening the "advanced" one but deciding not to use it (step 5, "Close the (modal) window"). In the advanced dialog (the modal) you can do all the things that are available in the simple dialog (inline).

Think that the current behavior is better. Closing a dialog generally means that "you're done with it" so opening the simple dialog again may be annoying in that context.

#4 @rhyswynne
4 years ago

Hi All,

Sorry for the delay! Been busy.

I've recorded said video. It is available at this URL:-

https://cloudup.com/cVbNUBFiuuj

My workflow is demonstrated as to why it could cause confusion - in that I can add a link, click advanced options, and then close. It loses the link. I may want to keep the link?

Minor irritation I know :)

#5 @azaozz
17 months ago

  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

Minor irritation I know :)

Yeah, still good to clear it out though :)

Closing the "advanced link" modal is equal to clicking "Cancel". This is the standard behaviour when clicking on any "close" button. That's why the link isn't inserted. Don't think we should change that behaviour, would be more confusing, also perhaps will have accessibility implications.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.