WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 3 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#40265 new enhancement

Introduce an 'All Network Users' view to multisite user list tables

Reported by: johnbillion Owned by:
Milestone: Awaiting Review Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 3.0
Component: Users Keywords: has-patch has-screenshots needs-testing
Focuses: multisite Cc:
PR Number:

Description

Bulk managing users on WordPress multisite is not an easy process.

As part of a push to improve the ability of network administrators to bulk add users to sites, I'm proposing the introduction of an All Network Users view when viewing the Users screen for an individual site on Multisite, and on the Users tab when editing a site from the network admin screen.

The benefit this provides is that a network administrator can quickly add users to a site in bulk; something that's not currently possible without the aid of a bulk user management plugin or WP-CLI.

Attachments (2)

40265.diff (6.2 KB) - added by johnbillion 3 years ago.
all-network-users.png (172.5 KB) - added by johnbillion 3 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (5)

@johnbillion
3 years ago

#1 @johnbillion
3 years ago

  • Keywords has-patch has-screenshots needs-testing added; needs-patch needs-screenshots removed

40265.diff does the following:

  • Adds an All Network Users filter to the Users screen when editing a site from network admin, and when viewing the Users screen on an individual site on Multisite.
  • Allows a network administrator to bulk add users to a site by checking their checkboxes and choosing a role from the Change role to... dropdown.
  • Potentially breaks on single site installations. Needs some testing.

In addition, there is a bug which causes the main site's role to be displayed next to a user when viewing the All Network Users filter from the site editing screen. This is probably related to the combination of switch_to_blog() and wp_roles() which doesn't appear to be working as expected.

Last edited 3 years ago by johnbillion (previous) (diff)

#2 @flixos90
3 years ago

Generally +1 for this.

However I'm thinking it might be better to only add this to the Site Users screen in the network admin. I think the Users screen of an individual site should remain without network functionality at this point. If we ever revisit the entire Site section in the network admin and decide to merge these things together with single site, this would be another issue, but for now I'd suggest to keep these separated.

#3 @ocean90
3 years ago

Related: #18162

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.