WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 3 months ago

#40493 new enhancement

On the Edit User Profile, open the "You can change your profile picture on Gravatar." link in a new window

Reported by: ashokrane Owned by:
Milestone: Future Release Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version:
Component: Users Keywords: target-blank has-patch
Focuses: accessibility Cc:

Description

On the Edit User Profile, open the "You can change your profile picture on Gravatar." link in a new window.
Reason being that otherwise it causes the user to loose any data that they have edited in the form, but not yet saved.

Attachments (1)

40493.diff (1.3 KB) - added by karlijnbk 3 months ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (9)

#1 @swissspidy
4 years ago

  • Keywords target-blank added

Hey there,

Thanks for your report and welcome!

As per #23432, we rather strive to remove usage of target="_blank". As for losing data, the browser should warn you when you're about to leave a page without having saved the form.

See https://core.trac.wordpress.org/query?keywords=~target-blank for related tickets.

#2 @ashokrane
4 years ago

Thanks @swissspidy. I agree. The browser didn't throw any warning when I have unsaved data & when I clicked on the "Gravatar" text. Doing that would be a better approach then opening in a new window (after going through other related tickets).

#3 @ajmaurya
3 years ago

  • Keywords reporter-feedback added

Hey i also once had the same thought on opening the Gravatar link in a new window, but after reading this it totally makes much more sense now.

#4 @afercia
21 months ago

  • Focuses accessibility added

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #accessibility by afercia. View the logs.


21 months ago

#6 @afercia
21 months ago

  • Keywords needs-patch added; reporter-feedback removed
  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to Future Release
  • Version 4.7.3 deleted

Discussed during today's accessibility bug-scrub, agreed this form would need the JS confirm to warn users they can lose data when navigating away. No target _blank please :)

@karlijnbk
3 months ago

#7 @karlijnbk
3 months ago

Regarding the patch above, please also give props to @diedeexterkate.

The patch above fixes the issue on the user edit pages and "add new user" page. We tested this on Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari on macOS.
Important to note that in Safari this does not work. We think this is due to back-forward caching (see https://stackoverflow.com/questions/40938707/safari-onbeforeunload/41769343).

#8 @Mista-Flo
3 months ago

  • Keywords has-patch added; needs-patch removed
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.