WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 23 months ago

Last modified 23 months ago

#42696 new defect (bug)

Autosave Notification not dismissible

Reported by: ahortin Owned by:
Milestone: Awaiting Review Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 4.2
Component: Autosave Keywords: needs-patch 2nd-opinion
Focuses: ui Cc:
PR Number:

Description

If I make changes to a Post/Page and then decide I don't want to keep those changes, I'll simpy click away from the edit page.

The next time I decide to edit the page, I'm prompted with a notification advising "There is an autosave of this post that is more recent than the version below. View the autosave"

https://cl.ly/082A3B0u3J1u

The only option I'm given is to view the autosaved version. This notificaiton should be dismissible. I shouldn't have to view the autosaved version when I already know that I don't want it. I also shouldn't have to resave the page, just to get rid of the notification.

I would like to see a Dismiss icon/link so that we can dismiss the notification for good. When developing a theme or plugin, we're required to make all notifications dismissible. There's no reason why core notifcations shouldn't follow the same rules and also be dismissible.

Attachments (2)

42696.diff (684 bytes) - added by MattyRob 23 months ago.
42696.2.diff (683 bytes) - added by sudar 23 months ago.
Fixed the typo in class name

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (12)

#1 @johnbillion
23 months ago

  • Keywords needs-patch good-first-bug added
  • Version changed from 4.9 to 4.2

The notice needs the notice is-dismissible classes adding.

@MattyRob
23 months ago

#2 @MattyRob
23 months ago

  • Keywords has-patch needs-testing added; needs-patch removed

#3 @ahortin
23 months ago

Patch doesn't work. The class should be is-dismissible not is-dissmissable. Note "...ible" not "...able"

#4 @johnbillion
23 months ago

  • Keywords needs-refresh added

@sudar
23 months ago

Fixed the typo in class name

#5 follow-up: @sudar
23 months ago

  • Keywords needs-refresh removed

I fixed the typo in class name.

@johnbillion Just curious. The version corresponds to WordPress version right? In that case why it is changed to 4.2 from 4.9?

#6 in reply to: ↑ 5 @MattyRob
23 months ago

Replying to sudar:

I fixed the typo in class name.

@johnbillion Just curious. The version corresponds to WordPress version right? In that case why it is changed to 4.2 from 4.9?

Thanks for catching my typo.

I think the version number applies to the version when this issue was introduced.

Last edited 23 months ago by MattyRob (previous) (diff)

#7 @ahortin
23 months ago

The new diff 42696.2.diff does allow you to dismiss the notification, but the next time you edit the post, the notification simply displays again.

Is it possible to also remove that last auto-save revision from the db so that the notification doesn't constantly reappear? By dismissing the notification, the intent is that it's not wanted, so it seems kind of annoying to constantly re-prompt the user about it.

#8 @johnbillion
23 months ago

  • Keywords needs-patch added; good-first-bug has-patch needs-testing removed

#9 @johnbillion
23 months ago

  • Keywords 2nd-opinion added

#10 @ahortin
23 months ago

On a side-note... It would also be great if the new auto-save message in the Customizer also removed the last auto-saved revision as well, when you click that Dismiss button, as it keeps constantly coming back every time you go into the Customizer. Like the auto-save message above, I shouldn't have to edit something and click Publish, just to get rid of the message permanently.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.