WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 2 years ago

Closed 2 years ago

Last modified 2 years ago

#42774 closed defect (bug) (worksforme)

After update to latest 4.9.1 about page in admin shows wrong version.

Reported by: bikram_sth Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 4.9.1
Component: Upgrade/Install Keywords:
Focuses: Cc:
PR Number:

Description

When i update from old version to latest wordpress 4.9.1, after update completes about.php shows the old version 4.8.4 but the message is shown to be 4.9.1. While i refresh the page it looks fine.
https://www.awesomescreenshot.com/image/3009482/acb35adda0fde5f9e592eb14c44176f4

Attachments (1)

Error-version-shown.jpg (251.6 KB) - added by bikram_sth 2 years ago.
there is message that is updated to latest but the highted text show old version

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (5)

@bikram_sth
2 years ago

there is message that is updated to latest but the highted text show old version

#1 @1naveengiri
2 years ago

are you sure you checked the right tab?
Because from your about page it seems WordPress is still Notifying you to update version to 4.9.1

#2 @dd32
2 years ago

  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from new to closed

Hi @bikram_sth and welcome to Trac.

Unfortunately this doesn't seem like a WordPress problem, but rather something with your host.

It sounds like wp-includes/version.php is being reverted to the 4.8.4 version periodically, OR, your host is running a PHP Opcache which needs to be cleared.

I'm going to mark this as worksforme, but if updating to 4.9.1 again through WordPress doesn't help, I believe you'll need to contact your host to see if there's something wrong on their end.

#3 @TobiasBg
2 years ago

bikram_sth was probably just refering to the wording. The text says "Thank you for updating to the latest version!" (meaning 4.8.4) which however isn't actually the latest version (anymore).

#4 @bikram_sth
2 years ago

Hi @dd32 , yes it may be due to cache but the update to latest version is completed, its just the version seen in the text. After reloading the same page it shows latest version there too without running update again.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.