WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 21 months ago

#45313 new enhancement

Multisite site deletion email contains misleading language about user account

Reported by: boonebgorges Owned by:
Milestone: Awaiting Review Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version:
Component: Administration Keywords: 2nd-opinion
Focuses: multisite Cc:

Description

In Multisite, you can initiate the deletion of a site via wp-admin/ms-delete-site.php. This triggers an email https://core.trac.wordpress.org/browser/tags/4.9.8/src/wp-admin/ms-delete-site.php?marks=58#L43 that contains the line:

(But remember your current site and username are gone forever.)

But the delete link does not, in fact, delete users or usernames. See https://core.trac.wordpress.org/browser/tags/4.9.8/src/wp-admin/ms-delete-site.php?marks=20#L18

This language dates from the MU merge in 3.0. See [12603]. I imagine it was linked to the original conception of WPMU that each user account would correspond to a specific site on the network, a legacy concept that plagues us elsewhere. See #17904, especially https://core.trac.wordpress.org/ticket/17904#comment:14 and subsequent comments.

This entire block of text could probably reuse a rethink, since the intended use of Multisite has changed considerably since 2010. I'd suggest changing the email text to something like (using wpmu_welcome_notification() as a template):

	$content = __( "Howdy ###USERNAME###,

You recently clicked the 'Delete Site' link on your site and filled in a
form on that page.

If you really want to delete your site, click the link below. Please note
that the URL ###SITE_URL### will be unavailable for further use, even after
the site is deleted.

You will not be asked to confirm again, so only click this link if you are absolutely certain that you'd like to delete your site:
###URL_DELETE###

-- The Team @ ###SITE_NAME###" );

Change History (0)

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.