WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 3 months ago

Last modified 3 months ago

#47833 new defect (bug)

User deletion: Using the link "deletion", one won't be asked about what to do with this users content after deletion

Reported by: kosmicon Owned by:
Milestone: Awaiting Review Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 5.2.2
Component: Users Keywords: reporter-feedback
Focuses: Cc:
PR Number:

Description

Hi WP-Team!

There are two ways how deletions of users are being handled by WordPress:
1) If you delete a user by selecting "delete" underneath the username, the user will be deleted.
2) If you insted first select the users name and then select "Bulk action/delete" (via drop-down), you will be asked about what you'd like to do with the users contents after deletion.

The expected behaviour would be, that one is always being asked about what to do with the users contents after deletion.

Cheers,

Kai

Attachments (1)

Delete is not delete.jpg (65.6 KB) - added by kosmicon 3 months ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (2)

#1 @SergeyBiryukov
3 months ago

  • Keywords reporter-feedback added

Hi @kosmicon, welcome to WordPress Trac! Thanks for the report.

I could not reproduce the issue on a clean install. In my testing, as long as the user has any posts or pages, WordPress does ask what should be done with them, whether deleting by clicking the Delete link or via Bulk Actions.

There is, however, a similar ticket for Multisite: #15855, where WordPress doesn't ask what to do with user's content when removing them from a particular site. In that case, though, the button says "Remove", not "Delete".

  1. Are you running single site or Multisite?
  2. Could you make sure the user is actually an author of any posts or pages?
  3. Does the issue still happen with all plugins disabled and a default theme (Twenty Nineteen) activated?
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.