WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 4 weeks ago

Last modified 10 days ago

#49221 new defect (bug)

Non-en_US installs of trunk are prompted for an update

Reported by: garrett-eclipse Owned by:
Milestone: Awaiting Review Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: trunk
Component: Upgrade/Install Keywords: has-screenshots
Focuses: administration Cc:
PR Number:

Description (last modified by garrett-eclipse)

Hello,

I've only noticed this recently on trunk installs, but if on install you choose any non-en_US locale for the install once you've logged in you'll see an update notice and pending update;
https://core.trac.wordpress.org/attachment/ticket/49221/Screen%20Shot%202020-01-17%20at%202.32.20%20PM.png

The update will install and put you to the nightly build version and leave the option to update again.

On trunk I don't believe you should be prompted for an update as you're already ahead of the version it's prompting you to update to.

Cheers

Attachments (1)

Screen Shot 2020-01-17 at 2.32.20 PM.png (92.6 KB) - added by garrett-eclipse 4 weeks ago.
Screenshot of the pending update

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (4)

@garrett-eclipse
4 weeks ago

Screenshot of the pending update

#1 @garrett-eclipse
4 weeks ago

  • Description modified (diff)
  • Keywords has-screenshots added

#2 follow-up: @dd32
12 days ago

Isn't that the intended functionality? Trunk should always (regardless of locale) be able to upgrade to a later (or same) development version..

#3 in reply to: ↑ 2 @garrett-eclipse
10 days ago

Replying to dd32:

Isn't that the intended functionality? Trunk should always (regardless of locale) be able to upgrade to a later (or same) development version..

I'm unsure but from what you're saying it should prompt for a more recent development version. Right now though it's prompting to upgrade to an older more outdated development version.
For instance if I install the most recent trunk as non-en_US I get prompted to upgrade which rolls me back to the most recent nightly so is an older outdated development version.

If that is the intended behaviour, then I guess it should apply to en_US default installs as well.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.