WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Changes between Initial Version and Version 5 of Ticket #51857


Ignore:
Timestamp:
12/01/2020 08:46:23 PM (3 months ago)
Author:
pbiron
Comment:

Legend:

Unmodified
Added
Removed
Modified
  • Ticket #51857

    • Property Owner set to pbiron
    • Property Summary changed from Add rollback for failed plugin/theme auto-updates to Add rollback for failed plugin/themeupdates
  • Ticket #51857 – Description

    initial v5  
    11When a core auto-update fails, core has long had the ability to automatically attempt a "rollback" to the latest stable release (in the branch that the site is running).  Note: for core auto-updates, "rollback" is not attempted for certain failures (e.g. "disk full", etc).
    22
    3 This capability should be extended to be available for plugin and theme auto-updates.
     3This capability should be extended to be available for plugin and theme updates.
     4
     5[note: originally this description mentioned `auto-updates`...that was a mistake on my part.  This is about rollback for both `manual` and `auto-updates`]
    46
    57The current functionality for core rollbacks relies on the availability of a "rollback" package being returned by the Updates API.  It is unclear (to me, at this time) whether extending this functionality to plugins/themes will require changes to the API or not.
    68
    7 **Important:** This ticket is **not** about backup/restore in case a site admin later determines that a `successful` plugin/theme update actually causes problem on a site!!!!  Rather it is about covering cases such as #51823, where a plugin/theme auto-update failure happens between the time the existing plugin/theme is deleted but before the new version successfully installed.
     9**Important:** This ticket is **not** about backup/restore in case a site admin later determines that a `successful` plugin/theme update actually causes problem on a site!!!!  Rather it is about covering cases such as #51823, where a plugin/theme update failure happens between the time the existing plugin/theme is deleted but before the new version successfully installed.