Make WordPress Core

Opened 11 months ago

Last modified 11 months ago

#58854 new feature request

Users should be able to reset their user preferences to default

Reported by: bozzmedia's profile bozzmedia Owned by:
Milestone: Awaiting Review Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version:
Component: Users Keywords:
Focuses: Cc:

Description

I work with many end users of the block editor and one thing that has come up frequently is sometimes their user preferences settings have created a view state of the editor that makes it difficult to find a certain feature and gets confusing when we are training them.

What I'm hoping for is an option to reset a user's preferences. This would reset all options under Preferences back to default, reset any other toggle they have (full screen, toolbar, etc.)

Ideally both a user and an admin would be able to access this function. Thanks for the consideration!

Related: https://wordpress.org/support/topic/reset-a-users-preferences-ie-block-editor-preferences/

Change History (2)

#1 @NekoJonez
11 months ago

It's something that is tricky to implemented... Since what are default settings? Is that what comes out of the box when you install WordPress or when you install the Gutenberg plugin...? Or what if you bulk reset your users' view and now some of them are confused because some of their buttons are in different places?

Also, this can potentially cause accessibility risks. Since sometimes a setting might have to be on for a reason.

While I see the reason and the use case for this idea, I also see a potential feature creep for this and it becoming a rabbit hole with no end in sight. I'm not against the idea but I'm just think we should scope this out more instead of seeing it so broad right away.

Like:

  • What are the default settings? Should an admin be able to make a "site default" or not?
  • Where will an admin set these settings/reset them?
  • What if that user is still logged in? Will their editor refresh, potentially loosing progress...?
  • What if users do this be accident and want to revert to a previous state?
  • ...

Maybe a better idea would be that you have a way to set a default set of settings and that users can go back to those settings from the menu? Just thinking along and out loud here.

#2 @bozzmedia
11 months ago

All great points, @NekoJonez. Thank you. I hear you on the potential scope creep.

To me default would mean the same state as when you create a new user. I could simply create new user accounts in each of these instances but that is cumbersome. Perhaps there could be a default user profile that admins could set on a per-site basis.

"Maybe a better idea would be that you have a way to set a default set of settings and that users can go back to those settings from the menu?" -- I like this idea as well.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.