Opened 11 months ago
Last modified 11 months ago
#63916 new defect (bug)
Reinstall page advises users to delete their previous database
| Reported by: | lev0 | Owned by: | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Priority: | normal | Milestone: | Awaiting Review |
| Component: | Upgrade/Install | Version: | |
| Severity: | minor | Keywords: | has-patch |
| Cc: | Focuses: |
Description
It's not good advice because users who understand the consequences of deleting their database are more likely to have already taken a backup and dropped the tables before attempting a reinstall. It is safer, faster, and easier, to instead ask the user to change their table prefix, leaving the data from their previous site untouched.
Change History (2)
Note:
See TracTickets
for help on using tickets.
![(please configure the [header_logo] section in trac.ini)](/chrome/site/your_project_logo.png)
Non-destructive advice for reinstall.
Trac ticket: https://core.trac.wordpress.org/ticket/63916