Opened 17 years ago
Closed 17 years ago
#9504 closed defect (bug) (fixed)
Using "Cancel" link in widget admin causes that widget to lose all its options on save
| Reported by: | markjaquith | Owned by: | ryan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Priority: | high | Milestone: | 2.8 |
| Component: | Widgets | Version: | 2.8 |
| Severity: | major | Keywords: | needs-patch |
| Cc: | Focuses: |
Description
Observed:
When in the Widgets admin, if you open a widget and then click the "Cancel" link, upon Saving, that widget will lose all its settings.
Expected:
Clicking "Cancel" should revert to the last saved state, resulting in no change when saved.
Change History (6)
#2
@
17 years ago
- Keywords needs-patch added; widgets removed
I vaguely recall this was fixed in WP 2.5 (I had reported it then).
This ones related to the new Widget class
#3
@
17 years ago
The POST info for the widget is empty after Cancel is pressed. Edit -> Cancel -> Edit -> Done preserves the info. The new widgets are assuming that update() is always called with full info for $new_instance. We can do like the old widgets do and merge $new_instance over $old_instance. I'll hold off on that until after the UI update. Maybe we can fix Cancel.
![(please configure the [header_logo] section in trac.ini)](/chrome/site/your_project_logo.png)
Just for reference, there are two or three other tickets related to the exact same thing. And I vaguely recall this was fixed in WP 2.5 (I had reported it then).