WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 5 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

#9748 closed defect (bug) (wontfix)

Admin unchanged Password Check is malfunctioning.

Reported by: hakre Owned by:
Milestone: 2.8 Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 2.8
Component: Users Keywords:
Focuses: Cc:

Description

Just realized this while doing test installations with 2.8 trunk.

1.) Even if you change the password, the message still displays. You need to manually remove the message.

2.) If the message has been removed and you reinstall the blog on the same system, the message does not appear that you have to change your password.

Looks to me that this Feature is work in progress and has not been properly finished.

Change History (6)

comment:1 DD325 years ago

#1 is fixed under current trunk.

#2 is.. What?

If you re-install the blog, Then you retain the users & usermeta, Therefor, no need.

If you empty the users table and re-install, perhaps not the usermeta table.. then it might happen due to old usermeta.

Can you rehash #2?

comment:2 hakre5 years ago

#1 I will test.

#2 my re-install in this case means: all delted, fresh new blog then there. I assume that the old cookie is still set. browsers usermeta you could name that :D

comment:3 hakre5 years ago

#1: fixed

#2: unfixed. i will take a look into that.

comment:4 hakre5 years ago

I now found out what is happening, but it is not worth patching:

# install a brand new blog to a brand new database.
# log in with default password.
# click the nag away, but do not log out (!). the setting to hide the nag is stored in the cookie now.
# delete the blog und database.
# re-install.
# log in with default password. no nag is showing because the cookie from previous setup is still active.

so this is cookie related. the circumstances are quite rare, so i won't suggest to fix it because of that.

it can make sense to load the database usermeta settings and overwrite the wp-settings-[0-9]+ cookie on login so that the data is propperly reset. just an idea.

comment:5 DD325 years ago

#2 is such a rare race case.. that its not worth worrying about.

clicking away the nag stores it in the cookie. On the -very- next page load, That data is removed from the cookie and stored in the usermeta.

I think the reason its not overwritten is, That the user may have other settings in there which havnt yet re-synced, Ie. On the new post page, Change the metaboxes, Let it expire, it'll pop up with a login, you login, then it syncs your metabox choices to the DB. If you were to clear it upon login, you dont gain much at all.

comment:6 hakre5 years ago

  • Keywords needs-patch 2nd-opinion removed
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

so wontfix for now. if someone else encounters this with a case that is more worth to take a closer look, please reopen.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.