Make WordPress Core

Opened 15 years ago

Closed 12 years ago

#17542 closed enhancement (invalid)

Remove upload file after deleting custom background

Reported by: denzel_chia Owned by:
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Customize Version:
Severity: normal Keywords: has-patch
Cc: Focuses: administration

Description

I came across a comment on custom-background.php that says
@todo: uploaded files are not removed here.

So, I thought I will come up with this codes for the upload file deletion if user remove background.

Attached custom-background.diff

I had tested on my localhost.

Hope this contribution is useful.

Thanks.

Attachments (2)

custom-background.diff​ (1.5 KB ) - added by denzel_chia 15 years ago.
17542.diff​ (1.5 KB ) - added by kawauso 15 years ago.
Delete on reset and check for attachment ID

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (8)

#1 @ocean90
15 years ago

You should use the current trunk, there is a revert in your patch, see 'context' => 'custom-background' .

#2 @kawauso
15 years ago

  • Keywords has-patch added

Not got a theme to test this with, but shouldn't we delete the attachment on reset as well?

Attaching a patch that does this and checks we actually have an attachment ID before trying to delete it.

@kawauso
15 years ago

Delete on reset and check for attachment ID

#3 @denzel_chia
15 years ago

Thanks everybody for the pointers.

#4 @nacin
15 years ago

Nice initial work on this, both of you.

Because backgrounds are now stored with context => custom-background, then we're actually remembering previous backgrounds. Keeping the old background around after settings changes doesn't seem like a problem. But I'll leave that for the UX.

#5 @nacin
13 years ago

  • Component Administration → Appearance
  • Focuses administration added

#6 @celloexpressions
12 years ago

  • Milestone Awaiting Review
  • Resolution → invalid
  • Status new → closed

4 years later, now that backgrounds are handled through the media library (and in the Customizer, see [30309], and [30459]), they definitely shouldn't be deleted when they're removed/changed from the background setting, since they can also be used elsewhere. So this ticket is no longer relevant.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.