WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 18 months ago

Closed 18 months ago

Last modified 17 months ago

#44009 closed enhancement (duplicate)

Personal data not being erased.

Reported by: amooreto Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 5.1
Component: Privacy Keywords: gdpr
Focuses: Cc:
PR Number:

Description

I am testing out the "Erase Personal Data" tool. I went through the flow of sending the request and approving it via email.

When I click on the "Erase Personal Data" button I get the message saying "No personal data was found for this user.".

This seems odd as I have things like Name and Email added to my user account. This information can be seen when I run the Personal Data Export.

What information are we considering to be "personal data" that can be erased?

Attachments (2)

screenshot-001.png (22.6 KB) - added by amooreto 18 months ago.
"No personal data was found for this user." message
screenshot-002.png (31.6 KB) - added by amooreto 18 months ago.
Personal data export

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (7)

@amooreto
18 months ago

"No personal data was found for this user." message

@amooreto
18 months ago

Personal data export

#1 @amooreto
18 months ago

From what I can see, comments are being anonymized, but the personal user data is not.

#2 @iandunn
18 months ago

  • Component changed from General to Administration
  • Keywords gdpr added
  • Type changed from defect (bug) to enhancement
  • Version set to trunk

@allendav or @desrosj can confirm this, but IIRC it only anonymizes data that you can't already edit yourself, via wp-admin/profile.php. For example, data collected by plugins.

There's also the issue that deleting the user is a separate step from erasing their data (see #43923).

If that's correct, maybe it needs to be stated explicitly to avoid confusion. That may be taken care of by #43923.

#3 @allendav
18 months ago

@iandunn is correct - we didn't take the extra step of building an anonymizer/eraser for user meta because we presume that the next step for registered users is to delete the user (which cleans up the core user meta).

And @iandunn is right - easy access to the Delete User flow is added in #43923

#4 @iandunn
18 months ago

  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed

It sounds like this can be closed, then, since #43923 will add a message that fixes the confusion.

#5 @desrosj
17 months ago

  • Component changed from Administration to Privacy

Moving to the new Privacy component.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.