Make WordPress Core

Opened 6 years ago

Last modified 6 years ago

#51844 new defect (bug)

Two different automatic update emails are sent at the same time

Reported by: knutsp Owned by:
Priority: normal Milestone: Awaiting Review
Component: Upgrade/Install Version:
Severity: minor Keywords:
Cc: Focuses:

Description

Subject 1.

Some plugins were automatically updated

Subject 2.

Background Update Finished

Both mentioning the same plugin(s).

Change History (5)

This ticket was mentioned in ​Slack in #core-auto-updates by hellofromtonya. ​View the logs.


6 years ago

#2 @hellofromTonya
6 years ago

@knutsp ​reports on Slack:

It happens with 5.6-RC1, not with 5.5.

#3 @pbiron
6 years ago

  • Version 5.6

yes, doesn't happen when running 5.5, but it's NOT a regression in 5.6-RC1. The one with subject line Background Update Finished is sent only when running a development version of WP (e.g., alpha, beta, RC, nightlies)...the other is sent regardless of whether running a dev version or not. The development version email has been sent since 3.7...the other one, obviously, was new in 5.5.

If you're using ​WordPress Beta Tester plugin, you can suppress the Background Update Finished email by going to Tools > Beta Testing > Extra Settings (Network Admin > Settings > Beta Testing > Extra Settings in multisite) and check the Skip successful autoupdate emails. setting (and then saving your settings). Note: doing this will also suppress the sending of that email core core and theme updates as well.

#4 @pbiron
6 years ago

note: I wouldn't mind getting rid of the Background Update Finished email...but the fact that you now get 2 emails on successful updates is not really a "bug".

#5 @knutsp
6 years ago

  • Severity normal → minor

Thank you for the clarification, @pbiron. I used the the beta plugin in the 5.5 cycle, so I did not discover it. I now just use const WP_AUTO_UPDATE_CORE = 'beta';

Since the main purpose of releasing and installing development versions is to test the next general release, it's a problem that it, on purpose, behaves differently than it will when moved from development (even RC2) to final.

Stating that it's not really a bug is just confusing and little constructive. Unnecessary and unwanted, I call that a bug and the reason I reported it here.

I also see that what earlier was called "background updates" now is called "auto-updates". Time to clean up.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.