WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 7 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

Last modified 7 years ago

#27170 closed defect (bug) (duplicate)

Removing a user from a site on network does not reallocate posts

Reported by: Ipstenu Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version:
Component: Users Keywords:
Focuses: multisite Cc:

Description

If you delete a user from the network you can delete all posts. (related #23361 - note that this only works for the main site )

However. If before you delete the user, you remove them from a site, their posts don't get deleted. So that means if I remove a user from a site and then delete him, all his posts remain, and are a headache.

Proposal: Removing a user from a site should behave like deletion, with regards to post attribution. I should be asked if I want to delete posts or reallocate before I can remove a user from a site.

Change History (4)

#1 @jenmylo
7 years ago

I think this is debatable based on workflow. We remove authors from sites when they no longer participate etc, but don't want to reassign or delete posts.

#2 @Ipstenu
7 years ago

It can (and is) causing conflicts with plugins that check for post authorship.

Removal or reallocation should be an option, and then... some way to associate gone-authors? This may be a messy roles problem. Like we need a 'no-role' role for ex-writers? So they can't edit their old posts.

Ow. I have given myself a headache.

#3 @SergeyBiryukov
7 years ago

  • Component changed from General to Users
  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed

Duplicate of #15855.

#4 @jenmylo
7 years ago

Wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey. :)

I do think deleting/reassigning should be an option, just pointing out that there is a real use case for people wanting the actual authors to still show up as the creators of content but no longer be able to log in and do stuff.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.