WordPress.org

Make WordPress Core

Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 11 months ago

#27244 new defect (bug)

'Restore This Autosave' immediately updates a published post

Reported by: johnbillion Owned by:
Milestone: Awaiting Review Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version:
Component: Revisions Keywords: needs-patch has-ux-feedback
Focuses: Cc:

Description

The "Restore This Autosave" button on the revisions screen immediately replaces the post with the autosave without making it clear that that is the case.

Steps to reproduce:

  1. Publish a post.
  2. Edit the content of the post and trigger an autosave (either by waiting two minutes or by clicking the 'Preview Changes' button).
  3. Navigate away from the post editing screen.
  4. Return to the post editing screen and note the message stating "There is an autosave of this post that is more recent than the version below". Click "View the autosave".
  5. On the revisions screen, click "Restore This Autosave".
  6. Note that the autosave has been published rather than simply being restored to the editing screen.

Change History (7)

#2 @adamsilverstein
4 years ago

  • Keywords needs-patch added

Good point - the behavior of the restore button is not at all obvious.

Direct result of the current limitation where a published post cannot be updated without updating the live post. Once we have this ability, the ideal solution would be to restore the revision as a draft that could then be published at a later time.

Related #10834 Related #23314

#3 @chriscct7
3 years ago

  • Keywords ux-feedback added

#4 @adamsilverstein
2 years ago

#35872 was marked as a duplicate.

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #core by adamsilverstein. View the logs.


2 years ago

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #design by karmatosed. View the logs.


11 months ago

#7 @karmatosed
11 months ago

  • Keywords has-ux-feedback added; ux-feedback removed

This still seems to be an issue and would be a good fix for a broken flow.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.